My Idol: Time

Time. It’s something that we spend so much of and we can never get back. There are so many sayings about how life is too short, how time is of the essence, that time is ticking, time is precious, etc. We are a culture that runs off of time. We have subways that arrive at exact times every seven minutes. Papers are turned in online at specific times, to the second. Classes start at specific times and then you are late. The library is only open during certain hours of the day. Classes start and get out at certain times. We measure everything by time. It is something that seems more than a necessity, but then what does that make it?

I know that I idolize time. God has convicted me of this as I stress out about all I do. I try to get the most out of my time by doing the most things I can do. This past weekend I filmed a movie that took longer than I expected and I shopped with people who have no concept of time. I had a lot of work to do, and still do, that take a lot of time. I wanted to sacrifice my time, my precious time, to school work all day, but it didn’t work out that way. On Friday I filmed from 11am- 4:30pm and then from 6:00pm-8:00pm. I used a lot of my day to film that movie, and it was fun. I had to give up my time for that.

The next day I had Missions Conference workday and then I went shopping with Devon, Nick, and Gio. Devon said it would be fast, knowing that I had a lot of work to do. I was expecting an hour, but it ended up being four. Was I annoyed? Yes, I was. Was I right to be? No. Yes, Devon and Gio have very much different views on time as me (Gio is Columbian where time is based on relationships, not hours in the day. Devon doesn’t really have an excuse), but that doesn’t make them wrong. Rather my complete worship of the hours of the day was wrong. God slowly opened up my hands and helped me let go of time. I went to dinner with SOS and then Tangled after shopping and the next day I went to Disneyland with my parents for a few hours. Yes, I do have a lot of work to do tonight, but I need to learn the balance between worshiping the hours of the day to using them in a way that is worshipful to God.

Each person will worship God differently in how they respect time, but I need to find out where God wants me to be. One thing for certain is that I need to be less anxious about things, but take them to God in prayer and petition and thanksgiving as I present my requests to God and the peace of God which transcends all understanding will guide my hear and mind in Christ Jesus (Philippians 4:6-7

One thought on “My Idol: Time

  1. I can relate to this in so many ways. Thank you for the reminder.
    Also, thank you so much for giving some of your time to me this week. I know how valuable it is; I really hope you know how much it meant to me.

Leave a Reply

