Two Quick Thoughts

The beginning of wisdom is fear of the Lord.

So many times I see people who skip chapel, don’t care about spiritual life, and write off God for the most part. I get so frustated because they don’t see God as the highest valued good, and really the only good. I used to get confused why this happened, until I reread the verse in Psalms about it.

Ps 111:1010  The fear of the Lord is the beginning of wisdom;all those who practice it have a good understanding.His praise endures forever! ESV

They are not wise because they do not fear the Lord. It is not that fear of the Lord is the first lesson of wisdom, but fear of the Lord initiates wisdom.

I am free.

We sang All for Jesus in Afterdark this week. As we sang I pondered this verse:

For it’s only in Your will that I an free,For it’s only in Your will that I am free.Jesus, all for Jesus.All I am and have, and ever hope to be

For it’s only in your will that I am free. Earlier tonight my RA asked me if I was stressed. I basically told him the real question is, can I ever not be. And yes, I can, because in Jesus I am not just free from sin, but I am free from stress. This is the God we worship.

2 thoughts on “Two Quick Thoughts

  1. It’s easy to get stressed. Many people are and it’s making them sick. It’s hard to practice being totally reliant upon God and not stressing out on our important things. Yes I also get stressed

Leave a Reply

